jump to navigation

2,000 Emails, Good-Bye Wednesday, 19 July 2006

Posted by R Garfield in Bemused, Personal.
trackback

Actually, that’s a low count for the number of messages in my inbox I just trashed. It was probably much closer to 3M.

That’s not spam – that’s email I wanted to get. And it all went bye-bye, completely unread. The range was enourmous – from the Virginia GOP spotlight, to MoveOn, Right to Left, Top to Bottom, family, friends, and business-related; Ruby On Rails to MySql, and coupons from bookstores (I actually use those. My prevailing vice and fast track to poverty: books).

I switched hard drives recently, and rather than transfer, installed Thurnderbird from scratch. I vowed my inbox(es) would stay lean and mean,that I would deal with it daily, blah-blah-blah. Yea, right …

I let up for a day, and it becomes more than a day’s reading. I read what’s essential, keep what looks interesting (to read later – as if!) and trash the rest … and a couple days later, at 1:35 a.m., I am trashing thousands of mails that I wanted to read, but didn’t, or that are no longer relevant.

That might be  ok, except for one thing. Having trashed thousands, I am now going to read the hundreds I have left.

At least, some of them.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

